42:59 Heifetz 2019: Mendelssohn: Octet in E-flat, Op. 20 (original 1825 version) VIDEO PREMIERE
Note: The composer was 16 years of age when this composition was written.

Heifetz International Music Institute
34.4K subscribers
00:28 Introduction by Nicholas Kitchen
06:11 I. Allegro molto
22:35 II. Andante
31:10 III. Scherzo. Allegro moderato
35:47 IV. Molto allegro e vivace

FIRST TIME ON VIDEO: Heifetz Institute Artistic Director Nicholas Kitchen leads a performance of the original 1825 manuscript of Felix Mendelssohn’s Octet for Strings in E-flat major, Op. 20 – originally labeled by Mendelssohn as “Ottetto.”

Performed in concert in Francis Auditorium on the campus of Mary Baldwin University in Staunton, VA, as part of the Heifetz Institute’s 2019 “Festival of Concerts.”

Nicholas Kitchen, violin
Hagai Shaham, violin
Ani Kavafian, violin
Shmuel Ashkenasi, violin
Katharina Kang, viola
Paul Neubauer, viola
Antonio Lysy, cello
Beiliang Zhu, cello