NASA Mars Landing Rover Science Mars 2020 Mission Perseverance Rover mission timeline spacecraft news
Watch the Feb. 18 Landing Broadcast starting at 2:15 PM Thursday Feb. 18, 2021

Tune in live at 11:15 a.m. PST / 2:15 p.m. EST / 19:15 UTC
12 Steps to Landing on Mars

Perseverance Landing Day Milestones

Step 1 | Cruise Stage Separation

Step 2 | Atmospheric Entry

Step 3 | Peak Heating

Step 4 | Peak Deceleration

Step 5 | Parachute Deployment

Step 6 | Heat Shield Separation

Step 7 | Radar Lock

Step 8 | Terrain Relative Navigation Solution

Step 9 | Backshell Separation

Step 10 | Powered Descent

Step 11 | Rover Separation/Sky Crane

Step 12 | Touchdown!